I belong with you, you belong with me, you’re my sweetheart

‘You don’t love because: you love despite; not for the virtues, but despite the faults.’
– William Faulkner

jrc:

I’ve known you were right since before we kissed. 😉

I love you despite. Which, I have always felt, is so much more powerful than loving you because.

Loving because is easy, but unrealistic. Loving despite is hard, but real.

I mean, I suppose I love you because as well.

But I’ve never loved despite before.


Historically, I have only loved people until I realized how different we were. Largely because the differences were deal breakers. And because I felt the deal breakers were hidden from me to try and make the relationship work. With you, it is different. I have known about our differences from the beginning. And I love you despite them.

Ho Hey – The Lumineers

Leave a Reply

